Photo by Tony Fischer / CC BY 2.0


The Association recognizes and respects the diverse size and organizational structures of its member colleges. Membership in the Association is open to all community college personnel interested in distance learning.

Each college has one OCCDLA member as its primary contact. The primary contact is responsible for maintaining an effective communication link between the Association and the college that they represent.

The Association invites liaison membership from other Oregon educational organizations with an interest in distance learning.



The Association selects co-chairs who serve a one-year term that begins July 1 and ends June 30. The co-chairs (current chair and chair-elect) schedule and facilitate meetings, serve on the Operations Workgroup, and also serve as liaisons between OCCDLA and external stakeholders.

Current Chair: Josh Ogle – Rogue Community College

Past Co-chairs: Cat Schleichert – Mt. Hood Community College, and Ian Coronado – Lane Community College


The Association uses a participatory decision-making process to develop position statements on issues, propose amendments to the charter, and approve the selection of co-chairs.

In some cases, particularly those involving the expenditure or commitment of remaining Oregon Community College Distance Education Consortium (OCCDEC) funds, the Association may determine that a vote is required. In decisions requiring a vote, the information will be provided to primary contacts prior to the meeting at which the vote will take place. Each college represented at a meeting, in which a vote takes place, will have one vote. A two-thirds majority of those voting members in attendance will be required.

OCCDLA Charter  (this link opens in a new window, Google Docs)